GoKunming Forums

work for indians in kunmng

yopopo (18 posts) • 0

i am an american who is married to an indian woman.

we are seriously considering moving to kunming so i thought i would write a few people connected to the place and ask a few basic questions.

i am a qualified teacher (two m.a.'s and most of a ph.d. as well as loads of teaching experience) who is also a writer and a personal trainer.

my wife is a television producer (documentaries and news content) who speaks perfect english, hindi, and bengali.

do you think she would have good employment prospects in kunming?

in what fields?

she is willing to work in most any field so we are wondering if there is a good chance to get work if i come to kunming to teach.

i also wondered if there is any market for personal trainers cum healthy lifestyle counselours in kunming.

thanks!

Dazzer (2813 posts) • 0

To put it bluntly.

You will get work easily as a teacher but pay will be low. You may get a few expats for the other stuff.

Your wife will find it harder, even as a teacher. Unless she does some independent film making, and I think that even that is controlled by the govt.

yopopo (18 posts) • 0

thanks dazzer.

is there any work in kunming in hospitality or tourism, perhaps in the hotels? or even in restaurants? she is a fantastic cook and also used to be an anchor on television, so she is very presentable.

thanks again!

Dazzer (2813 posts) • 0

There is some hotel work. But until there is more international business men from Indian sub continent staying in hotels options are limited.

One possibility idea is to search for the Indian/Bangladeshi etc. consulates in China to see if they are in Kunming. This may help you identify any opportunities and where the locations (if any) for such activity are in Kunming.

weekapaughead (51 posts) • 0