GoKunming Forums

Why Kunming?

Gobobo (4 posts) • 0

Hi there, I'm currently in my first year of teaching English in China.

I want to teach for a second year, but I'm unsure of where. I'm teaching primary students in a school and i really enjoy it. I love the food and the culture, plus there's the obvious challenges of living in China. I'm in a city much further north, and it's cold! Also where i am is very industrial (even by modern Chinese standards) and, to be honest, i didn't come all this way to settle down in the first place the agency sent me.

So I'm looking at alternatives, and Kunming is the first place i was drawn to (no BS) because of the climate and what I'd heard about the place. I did manage a brief stopover on my way back from Vietnam earlier this year but didn't have the time to explore. I only saw the areas around the main train station and the airport, which i don't think (hope) do justice to the city.

So if you could you give some frank assessments of living in Kunming I'd be most grateful. I'll also be reading up on the internet, but i think first hand information tends to be much closer to the reality when you're living in the new 'Wild West', he he.

Ahmet (98 posts) • 0

First, the climate really is wonderful. Despite a few cold winter nights, flowers bloom year round and there isn't any of horribly humid summe weather of Shanghai, Beijing, Wuhan or Chongqing. Travel in and out of Kunming is relatively convenient with flights to most major domestic cities as well as some international destinations. The city is geographically compact by Chinese standards and has very good, reliable and inexpensive bus system.