GoKunming Forums

Visa issue school

unholeee (5 posts) • 0

Just looking if anyones been in a similar situation or has some ideas.

I arrived to work in a school here on a Z visa. I guess I was naive and I signed the contract in my home country and emailed it off. However when I started to work here, the business never signed the contract. They offered a different contract and now refuse to process my Z visa into a 1 year residency permit until i sign a bad contract. Im not sure I can go to another school because I have to deal with the original one?

Please help, my visa expires soon, and this is my first time to travel to work overseas

Dazzer (2813 posts) • 0

you are screwed really. you could go to labor office it might cause embarrassment to school but wont help you. rule of law counts for zip here. if you name and shame at least others can read it and avoid the place

Ifoundthetuna (370 posts) • 0

what i recommend is to find a "good" school.

good= school not screwing you over.

sign a new contract with them and go to thailand to leave the country and apply from there. you are supposef to do the processing from your homecountry but a lot of teachers i know still get it done in thailand or hongkong with the school's assisstance.

important is that you have all the papers. college degree. recognized teaching certificate. 2years recorded working experience (although i hear some teachers without, still got their visa). and the documents from the school, hiring you.

Ifoundthetuna (370 posts) • 0

before you do a visa run, go to exit&entry administration office, and show them all the papers you got and ask if there is anything else you need.

one colleague of mine did it and they told her to bring two additional documents. when she came back from HK she got the visa without any problems.

unholeee (5 posts) • 0

I've found, what I believe is a good school by walking around.