论坛

Standing at an impasse, need some advice or pep talk~

dm-01 (9 posts) • 0

Hi all, I'm Dave, really in need of some advice or pep talk now, thanks a lot in advance.

Born and raised in Kunming, I graduated from a local university, got a job in a great company. Few years later I was transferred to its headquarter in BJ, things were going very well at the time.

Suddenly out of nowhere my father was diagnosed with cancer, hearing the news, I took the earliest flight back to Kunming, that night in the hospital I was faced with the most difficult decision of my life: to return or not. On one hand, he was a great dad who had raised me, been there for me all those years, through ups and downs, I looked up to him since I was a kid and I was very attached to him, plus it was my responsibility to look after him as the only child in the family. On the other hand, the job was perfect in almost every aspect, promising career, great colleagues, good pay... It didn't take me too long to make the decision, which was letting go of my job and returned to Kunming to look after him.

At the time I thought it would be easy to find a suitable job, by suitable I mean jobs that were relevant to my previous experience, finance and administration, combined with the use of English, preferably jobs that pay more than 5K/month because I needed the money to pay hospital bills. Little did I realize that as a third-tier city, Kunming's job market was vastly different from what I had expected, then came the rude awakening, having checked job site after job site, contacted friend after friend, I didn't find anything that was suitable.

For months I lived off my savings and it took quite the fortitude to accept the fact that I was not making money and at the same time had to put on an optimistic face while taking care of my dad.