论坛

Getting a work "Z" visa

Yuanyangren (297 posts) • 0

Hi,

I'm an engineer starting a new engineering job to be based in Kunming, initially at least. Previously I was working in Vietnam and prior to that I was a Chinese language student in Kunming.

I still have a valid Chinese resident permit for study purposes, valid only until the 10th of September. My understanding is that I will need to apply for a work "Z" visa outside of China and then re-enter China using that new visa rather than being able to convert my existing student visa into a work visa inside China. Is this correct?

Alternatively, would it be possible to enter China using a tourist or business visa and then get that converted inside China at the Kunming PSB office on Beijing Lu into a "Z" visa or not? I ask this because I originally entered China in late 2010 on a tourist visa and then it was converted to a student visa inside the country.

If not, I would rather get all the paperwork done for a work visa, which I would be applying for in either Bangkok (most likely) or alternatively Chiang Mai or Vientiane, Laos. I have read the visa instructions on the Chinese Embassy, Bangkok website and although it's lengthy, I will endeavor to meet those requirements.

My understanding is that my company will need to send all the documents required (and I will ask them to specify on the letterhead that I will apply in Bangkok, or alternatively one of those other two consulates though Bangkok is my most preferred option) and I will thus hopefully be able to get my paperwork completed in the next couple of weeks.

Does anyone know what the validity of the visa I seek to obtain is (I believe 1-year and multiple entry) and any special or other requirements that I need to know about?