论坛

Pointless Visa Renewal?

Vortarulo (13 posts) • 0

I'm a German student at the Yunnan Nationalities University. I arrived one week ago and I will be studying here for about 10 months. Back in Germany, I got a students visa (X Visa) with the specifications of:

Entries: 01
Duration of each stay: 000
Issue date: 17AUG2010
Enter before: 17NOV2010

Now my university told us they have to renew our visas and want 400 Yuan for that. Why might my visa have to be renewed? Is there anything I missed? Is this a standard procedure or why are they doing this (I have a scholarship, by the way)...

If I simply just don't appear in the office or refuse to have my visa "renewed", what could the consequences be? After all, my current visa should be valid for a year (or even more).

What does this mean? What can I do?
Thanks,
- André

LaoBenDan (39 posts) • 0

What you have got is a temporary 'Student Visa' and you will need to apply for you long term visa within 30 days after arrival.
First you need a confirmation letter from your school, you should also be registered with a KunMing address and this address has to be verified by your local community police, you also need to pass a medical checkup, then take some photos along with your application,- and, oh yes, finally, 400 Yuan is the right price for a 10 months Student Visa.
Don't overstay your temporary visa, you may have to pay a hefty fine,- and in the worst case, they will send you straight back home.
Relax, all these regulations are not very different from those in your home-country ;-)

Ouyang (243 posts) • 0

Seems strange to me. The only reason that I know of requiring someone to "renew" their student visa like this is if they change schools. Is your original residence permit/visa through Yunnan Nationalities University?

Tonyaod (824 posts) • 0

Hi Vortarulo,