论坛

Technition needed

finlay (10 posts) • 0

Can anyone recommend a competent and trustworthy tech. to work on my pc. Last local tech. solved my problems by installing ghost software and god knows what else. Should be able to explain what he's doing (I'm a novice)

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

I sympathize with this one. Most local techs I have come across are at best overenthusiastic amateurs. The big problem is a general lack of responsibility. This means that if they don't know, they won't say so. If they mess up your computer, they will blame something else, even if they know they did it. And like you said, they frig solutions without even asking you.

Options. If you have a newish computer under warrantee go to the registered official service centers. They won't use ghost software, and they have at least been trained. The second option is to find an expat who may also be not much more than an enthusiastic amateur, but they won't usually do stuff without discussing it first.

JanJal (1244 posts) • 0

If you can provide some more information about your PC (like what operating system and version) and the problems you are observing, someone here could have more motivation to have a look at it.

finlay (10 posts) • 0

Thanks TT but the computer is 3 years old...long past warranty shelf life. To JJ: Its a window 7 (originally) my biggest handicap is that I don't know what I don't know. I think what needs to be done is the computer needs to be wiped clean and start over again. I'm not looking for a charitable expat to bail me out of my predicament. I'm willing to pay a reasonable fee.

HFCAMPO (3062 posts) • 0

I have a desktop computer with windows 7 and it is a struggle to avoid the updates and the new windows.