GoKunming Forums

Where to buy shoes?

germanincanada (5 posts) • 0

Hello !

We are just arrived here a few days ago, and I have had to figure out that I can't get my shoe size 45 oer 46 also looking for a suit to go to a wedding but the size don't match with me ! I never thought I am such a big boy !! uNTIL GO ING SHOPPING IN kUNMING...

Anybody can advise?

Danke!

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

Shoes, dunno.
But you can get custom made. Not sure where, I am new to KMG.

Suits, get them tailormade. Probably cheaper that 'off the peg' back home.
I have not bought a suit in Kunming, but 1000 rmb should set you up with a nice one. If it is wear once and then stuff in the wardrobe, 500rmb might cut it.

Susannah (1 post) • 0

Hi,
I know that Zara has women's shoes that are in western sizes, but I've never looked for men's shoes. It seems like they would probably have some though. Zara is located in the western style shopping area right across the street from Jin Bi Square (云南省昆明市西山区步行街). I think you can get a modern-looking suit made for you at the end of Wen Hua Xiang closest to the gate of Yunnan University in a shop next to Paul's foreign grocery store, and probably in all of the random tailor stores you see everywhere.

AlPage48 (1394 posts) • 0

Shoes can be difficult. I have not yet found a shop that measures your feet to see what size you need and help to find it.

For suits I found a place on Renmin Dong Lu across from Yan'an Hospital where I got a custom made cashmere suit PLUS two extra pair of wool dress pants for 1,300. The suit alone was 900. They charge by the meter for the material plus a fee to make it. Took a week but I bet they could do it quicker if there was a rush.

no way (104 posts) • 0

i once found a shop south of wenlinjie that sells dress shoes in
larger sizes. canna remember the name, but start at the new
toilet at wenhuaxiang and start walking downhill. pass the
veggie market on your left, another 100 meters or so you'll hit